KUALA LUMPUR: The government has announced a one year visa exclusion for tourists from China and India.

The visa exclusion is limited to a maximum of 15 days and will take effect from Jan 1, 2020 onwards, according to a federal government gazette.

Despite the move to temporarily exclude visas for tourists from two of the most populace nations in the world, he said nationals from both nations would still need to be registered, including particulars of their travel plans into an electronic registration system as was directed by the Immigration Director-General under Sub-section 2(1) of the Passport Act 1966.

The gazette clarified that tourists from the two nations would also have to undertake their journey within three months after registering themselves in the electronic registration system.

“The tourists would not be required to apply for any other passes under the Immigration Rules 1963 apart from having valid return flight tickets to their respective home nations or other countries.

“The tourists are also only allowed to enter and exit Malaysia through airports gazetted under Sub-section 5(1) of the Immigration Act 1959/63 (Act 155) or through designated immigration control posts, according to the gazette.

The designated immigration control posts are located at Bangunan Sultan Iskandar; Johor Baru Railway Station; the Sultan Abu Bakar Immigration Control Post in Tanjung Kupang, Johor; Padang Besar, Perlis; Bukit Kayu HItam, Kedah; as well as Sungai Tujoh and D22A Tedungan Immigration Control Post, Batu Danau Limbang, Bahagian Kelima, Sarawak.

Tourists from the two nations entering Malaysia must also show to authorities on arrival, sufficient funds for their visit in Malaysia.

Tourists from India and China are also allowed to re-enter Malaysia, 45 days after leaving the country, with similar process and conditions being imposed.